top of page

IN THE MAKING

The medina of Fez, this city where I come from, this city filled with history,

which fascinates me so much by its architecture, its craftsmanship and its culture.

 

I walk through its many streets and I am carried away in the past.

I smell many smells emanating from the ovens, markets and workshops.

I let a donkey pass, I take a tour of the tanneries, in the foundouks,

I push open the doors of all these riads and small palaces with architecture that takes my breath away.

Jewels testifying to the know-how and the richness of the Moroccan heritage.

I remain amazed in front of these sculpted plaster columns,

in front of these wooden ceilings and in front of these courtyards covered with a thousand small zelliges.

 

I would like to share with you part of this wonderful story.

I would like to show you the traditional technique of zellige artisans,

to show you with what precision they manufacture your decorations,

piece by piece, thanks to their unique know-how and the magic of their hands.

SALIMA

Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Palais Bahia Salima.jpg
Dar Si Said.jpg
Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Médina Fes Salima Filali
Salima Filali zellige
Palais Bahia_edited.jpg
fabrication-zellige.JPG

Where does the zellige come from?

The zellige is a traditional art of Morocco. It belongs to the family of traditional Mediterranean ceramics. It is an ancestral art that dates from the twelfth century and is passed on from generation to generation.

 

The basis of zellige, and the creation of tesserae, is made from clay. The quality of this raw material will directly impact the result of our zellige. That is why we select products from the region of Fez.

 

The clay quarries north of the city allow us to extract a white clay with porous properties that give the zellige a great strength and mechanical properties suitable for the hammering.

The zellige of Fez

If we work with artisans of Fez, it is not by chance. Not only does the quality of the raw materials make it a quality zellige, but the craftsmen are recognized for their great expertise.

 

Much more than a cultural identity, it is a real know-how. And this age-old profession truly anchored in the city of Fez, is a real heritage. The zellige of Fez has been registered with the World Intellectual Property Organization on behalf of Morocco. Its classification by UNESCO as a world intangible heritage would be a real consecration.

 

For its part, the Ministry of Crafts of Morocco has created the label "Zellige of Fez". This recognition demonstrates the quality of this art, but also of the products resulting from this craft. And we are proud to work with these men and women, to perpetuate this tradition and offer you all the richness of the Moroccan mosaic.

The stages of the manufacture of zellige

The manufacture of zellige is an ancestral art, which is still carried out in a traditional way.

 

The first major step is the preparation of the clay. Renowned for its strength and fineness, the clay of Fez has a unique technical quality.

 

The clay blocks are then crushed and moistened, directly in the workshop. The clay is kneaded with water and then spread out in the sun to dry. It is then calibrated and squared.

fabrication_zellige.jpg

Then comes the second step, the cooking. This last one will be realized in two phases. The first cooking will be done with palm leaves, branches of pink laurel and white thistle. This is what will obtain the natural zellige, with a raw color.

 

The third step, the enameling, will then allow to work these natural zelliges to give them their varnish. First, a first mixture of tin oxide is applied to one side of the tile. This first base will allow to opacify the tile, before applying the color varnish.

Various pigments will then be used to define the color of zellige. Calcine (khfîf) and silica sand will offer a white enamel, limonite, yellowish tints, smalt powder (brâya, 'elja), bluish tints while manganese (moghnâsîya kahla) will play on a panel of colors ranging from brown to black, until purple tones.

 

Thus varnished, the tiles undergo a second firing. In the case of natural zelliges, this cooking is not necessary. Using a traditional wood oven, it is during this phase that the zelliges will find all their uniqueness. The intensity of heat and the placement of the tiles in the oven will directly impact the color shades on each tile. This is how the zellige becomes unique and a piece of art.

Finally, the sound of hammering can be heard, like music giving rhythm to the cutting of Moroccan tiles. In the workshops, the maâlems then give life to the tesserae, with the greatest of finesse. From hand to hand, and an expert gesture, the zellige is born. The craftsman will give it various forms, scales, diamonds, triangles, hexagons or vine leaves.

 

According to the tradition of the city of Fez, known for the quality of its zellige, the tiles are fired and glazed in the format 11 x 11cm. They are then cut in different formats and reassembled to give life to various patterns.

ZAGORA (4).jpg

Unlike the industrial zellige, the real Moroccan zellige has beveled edges by hand. This allows in particular a pose edge to edge. The result is even more majestic, offering bewitching mosaics and a firework of colors.

bejmat 5x15

But also the bejmat

Another technique, the bejmat, is also used to make Moroccan tiles. It is a matrix of 5 x 15 cm, enamelled or natural. Because of its uncut aspect, the bejmat should be laid with a fine joint of 1 to 2 mm.

With a greater resistance compared to zellige, bejmat is very often used for a floor. It is often found in bathrooms, but also in other rooms of the house.

 

It offers many possibilities of layout, for classic patterns, but also more contemporary. Compared to porcelain stoneware tiles or parquet, bejmat creates a real dynamic with an inimitable design.

©2021 Salima Filali -  Politique de confidentialité & mentions légales

Photographies © Salima Filali, Céline Michel, tous droits réservés 

  • LinkedIn
bottom of page

top of page

FABRICATION

La médina de Fès, cette ville dont je suis originaire, cette ville remplie d'histoire,

qui me fascine tant par son architecture, son artisanat et sa culture. 

Je me balade dans ses multiples ruelles et je suis emportée dans le passé.

Je sens de nombreuses odeurs qui émanent des fours, des marchés et des ateliers.

Je laisse passer un âne, je fais un tour aux tanneries, dans les foundouks,

je pousse les portes de tous ces riads et petits palais à l'architecture qui me coupe le souffle.

Des bijoux témoignant du savoir-faire et de la richesse du patrimoine marocain.

Je reste émerveillée devant ces colonnes au plâtre sculpté,

devant ces plafonds de bois et devant ces cours recouvertes de milliers de petits zelliges. 

J'aimerai partager avec vous une partie de cette merveilleuse histoire.

Vous montrer la technique traditionnelle des artisans du zellige,

vous montrer avec quelle précision ils fabriquent vos décors,

pièce par pièce, grâce à leur savoir-faire unique et à la magie de leurs mains. 

Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Palais Bahia Salima.jpg
Dar Si Said.jpg
Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Fabrication zellige Salima Filali
Médina Fes Salima Filali
Salima Filali zellige
Palais Bahia_edited.jpg
fabrication-zellige.JPG

D’où vient le zellige ?

Le zellige est un art traditionnel du Maroc. Il appartient à la famille des céramiques traditionnelles méditerranéennes. C’est un art ancestral qui date du XIIè siècle et qui est transmis de génération en génération.

La base du zellige, et la création des tesselles, se fait à partir de l’argile. La qualité de cette matière première va directement impacter le résultat de notre zellige. C’est pourquoi nous sélectionnons des produits issus de la région de Fès.

 

Les carrières d’argile au nord de la ville permettent d’extraire une argile blanche présentant des propriétés poreuses qui confèrent au zellige une grande solidité et ainsi des propriétés mécaniques adaptées pour le taillage à la marteline.

Le zellige de Fès

Si nous travaillons avec des artisans de Fès, cela n’est pas dû au hasard. Non seulement, la qualité des matières premières en fait un zellige de qualité, mais les artisans sont reconnus pour leur grande expertise.

 

Bien plus qu’une identité culturelle, c’est un véritable savoir-faire. Et ce métier séculaire véritablement ancré dans la ville de Fès, est un véritable patrimoine. Le zellige de Fès a d’ailleurs été enregistré auprès de l’Organisation mondiale de la propriété intellectuelle au nom du Maroc. Son classement au niveau de l’UNESCO en tant que patrimoine immatériel mondial serait une véritable consécration.

 

De son côté, le Ministère de l’Artisanat du Maroc a créé le label « Zellige de Fès ». Cette reconnaissance démontre toute la qualité de cet art, mais également des produits issus de cet artisanat. Et nous sommes fiers de travailler avec ces hommes et ces femmes, pour perdurer cette tradition et vous offrir toute la richesse de la mosaïque marocaine.

Les étapes de la fabrication du zellige

La fabrication du zellige est un art ancestral, qui se réalise toujours de manière traditionnelle.

 

La première grande étape est la préparation de l’argile. Réputée pour sa solidité et sa finesse, l’argile de Fès possède une qualité technique unique.

 

Les blocs d'argile sont ensuite concassés et humidifiés, directement dans l’atelier. L'argile est pétrie avec de l'eau puis étalée au soleil pour sécher. Elle est ensuite calibrée puis équarrie.

fabrication_zellige.jpg

Vient ensuite la seconde étape, celle de la cuisson. Cette dernière va être réalisée en deux phases. La première cuisson qui va permettre d’obtenir le zellige naturel, avec une teinte brute, on l'appelle le "biscuit".

La troisième étape, l’émaillage, va alors permettre de travailler ces zelliges naturels pour leurs donner leur vernis. 

Divers pigments vont alors être utilisés pour définir la couleur du zellige. 

Ainsi vernis, les carreaux subissent une deuxième cuisson. Dans le cas des zelliges naturels, cette cuisson n’est pas nécessaire. Utilisant un four à bois traditionnel, c’est durant cette phase que les zelliges vont trouver toute leur unicité. L’intensité de la chaleur ainsi que le placement des carreaux dans le four vont directement impacter les nuances de couleur sur chaque carreau. C’est ainsi que le zellige devient unique et une pièce d’art.

Enfin, le son des martelines se fait entendre, telle une musique rythmant la taille des carreaux marocains. Dans les ateliers, les maâlems donnent alors vie aux tesselles, avec la plus grande des finesses. De main en main, et d’un geste expert, le zellige voit ainsi le jour. L’artisan va ainsi lui donner des formes variées, en écailles, losanges, triangles, hexagones ou encore feuilles de vignes.

 

Selon la tradition de la ville de Fès, réputée pour la qualité de son zellige, les carreaux sont cuits et émaillés au seul format 11 x 11cm. Ils sont ensuite retaillés dans différents formats et réassemblés, pour donner vie à divers motifs.

ZAGORA (4).jpg

Contrairement au zellige industriel, le véritable zellige marocain possède des bords biseautés à la main. Cela permet notamment une pose bord à bord. Le résultat n’en est que plus majestueux, offrant des mosaïques envoutantes et un feu d’artifice de couleurs.

bejmat 5x15

Mais également le bejmat

Une autre technique, le bejmat, est également utilisée pour la confection de carreaux marocains. Il s’agit d’une matrice de 5 x 15 cm, émaillée ou naturelle. De par son aspect non retaillé, le bejmat devra être posé avec un joint fin de 1 à 2 mm.

Le bejmat est très souvent employé pour un usage au sol. On le trouvera ainsi très fréquemment dans les terrasses,  également dans d’autres pièces de la maison.

 

Il offre de nombreuses possibilités de calepinage, pour des motifs classiques, mais également plus contemporains. Par rapport au carrelage en grès cérame ou au parquet, le bejmat crée une véritable dynamique, avec un design inimitable.

©2021 Salima Filali -  Politique de confidentialité & mentions légales

Photographies © Salima Filali, Céline Michel, tous droits réservés 

  • LinkedIn
bottom of page